Magics relation to cheating at cards

c.t

Apr 17, 2013
Australia
EDIT: I DONT PLAY FOR MONEY I JUST FIND THE MOVES INTERSTING AND MY FRIENDS ARE COOL WITH IT, WERE NOT IDIOTS WE KNOW PLAYING FOR MONEY IS DANGEROUS.
Hey, so I got into card cheating about 6 months ago and this never struck me until recently, i was reading expert at the card table by S.W.E and one of the things it said in the introduction was "being suspected of skill is the death blow to the professional" this made me start wondering because ive been doing magic for about 2 years and cardistry about a year and i almost always have cards in my hands flourishing or something so it gets to me because if people know im skilled in sleight of hand and flourishing then naturally theyre going to wonder if i cheat or not and start looking for it in a game, i normally play with my mates cause thats about the only game i can get at my age and they already know im a magician so they go hawkeye on me to try spot me cheating, i get caught 1 in 10 games but theres always pressure and its very hard to get away with palms and passes, if your still reading this incredibly large passage i want to know what you would do in my position (give up one of them or what cause i cant choose!!) thanks for reading this massive thing and any help is appreciated :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Just by "giving up" on magic won't make your friends think you don't cheat anymore. That's one of those things that you can't really change in life. For them you are a magician and a cheater ( not saying it in a bad way ) and that won't change. This will only make you better.

c.t

Apr 17, 2013
Australia
thats the thing though, i spend more time practising cheating but in everyones mind im already the magic dude so i cant suggest a game of poker or blackjack withought everyone suspecting me :/

Jun 27, 2013