About tricks and routines

Jul 26, 2017
Hi again.
So as I said in one of my previous threads I've been doing magic (mostly card magic) for about 4 years now, but I'm not professional. I'm not doing gigs or shows for money, would love to in future but I'm not really ready yet. So basically I just do magic for my friends, when we are going out for example. I have a good collection of tricks but the problem is, most of the time one of two things happends:
1. I just end up doing like 5-6 tricks that begin with "pick a card" or "peek at a card" or something like that and it becomes repetitive.
2. I do 1-2 tricks and then I can't remember what tricks I know (something like when someone asks you to tell a joke and you know a whole lot, but you just can't remember)

So my question is: In your situation, when you are just casually with friends or just someone asks you to show a trick, do you have 2-3 routines ready or you just do first trick that comes to your mind? I think (I could be wrong) that people don't usually do routines they use for paid gigs or shows because the environment and situation are different. Any thoughts?

Thank you :)

Jan 26, 2017
Virginia
The routine should be made to allow you to flow into a few tricks. They aren't made on the spot, so when people go through routines, everything is practiced. Moves, patter, etc.

Jul 26, 2016
Suggestion: Learn some card tricks that have a story, for example Magician versus Gambler, The Story of the Twins, Sam the Bellhop, etc. Generally, people find these more entertaining, and it eliminates the challenge and defensiveness on the part of the spectator, built into pick a card tricks. I find that I get the greatest reactions from Story tricks - they can just kick back and enjoy and forget you are trying to "fool" them.

Reactions: Maaz Hasan

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey