Advice for a Fairly New Magician

Hey, I'm fairly new to magic (about 6 months experience) and was wondering if anyone knew some Intermediate/Beginner Card manipulations, worth while Magic DVD's, and info on what decks you prefer. My theme I like to use is magic as something elegant and beautiful, so it can be appreciated as the art form it really is. I'm very interested into the Trilogy and I've learned just about everything from what free tutorials I could find. I've seen several card manipulation tutorials that are either way too basic or way to hard and I'm looking for something that's right in the middle. I also own about 10 decks, but am looking to see what other decks magicians prefer (and where to find them). Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
The first thing I would say would be to stay away from free tutorials as they are usually poorly taught and performed. Next I would recommend getting something like "Royal Road to Card Magic" or a couple volumes of Card College so you can get a firm grasp on the basics. Once you understand the basics move on to The Trilogy (which I would only recommend for the sleights).

As for what decks it is up to personal choice. I prefer regular bikes but I'm quite partial to T11 Guardians. Not really a custom card guy.

If you're looking to present magic as elegant and classy, look into coin magic. Done well it can be some of the most beautiful magic.