Advice needed: what is best slight to pretending to turn coin over but switching it out?

May 15, 2019
I'm an amateur magician and I've been developing a trick for the last year.

Can someone tell me a good or the best method to use if, let's say, I have a coin on my palm up left hand, and a second coin finger palmed in right hand (or classic palmed) and I want to make it look like I simply turn over the coin in my left hand but I actually switch it for the coin in the right hand. It needs to be as clean and simple as possible, so no Bobo Switch.

No need to explain the moves if that is prohibited here in the forum, just tell me the name of the move or which magician invented it and I can research that myself.

Thanks!

obrienmagic

Elite Member
Nov 4, 2014
Orange County, Ca
www.obrienmagic.com
Is the coin switching visually like a change or is it switching invisibly meaning the switch happens and the spectator is not supposed to realize it switched just yet. More context to the routine will help.

Spellbound moves will help if it is meant to be a color change. Otherwise a simple false transfer would be your best bet if it is meant to be done without the spectator noticing change.

JoshL8

Elite Member
Aug 5, 2017
WA state USA
I think a slight bit more context is needed. I mean any shuttle pass you will have a coin in each hand when you are done...if thats not what you want then maybe ending up with both coins in the same hand? Eric Jones in his 2016 Murphy's Live at the Table Lecture has a handling of the 'tenkai pennies' move in his version of 'hellbound spellbound' where it looks like you are turning a coin over in your hand while switching it for the other coin, both coins end up in that hand.

May 15, 2019
Michael said it. We need to know if you want a visual or covert switch before we can guide you.

Sorry about that. I typed a longer reply with details but it never posted...