Advice on becoming professional

Aug 18, 2021
Hello, there have been several unsuccessful attempts to start a consistent study. After 2 years of trying to get started I finally discovered that reading personal development books is not going to give me the push I need to get started. I just have to start and period. I am currently studying Card College thoroughly and step by step. I have a lot of free time and I definitely want to become a professional magician. Should I focus on studying marketing as well as magic or just practicing and acting and following where destiny takes me? I love all kinds of magic but specifically close-up, for adults. Greetings and thanks in advance.

Reactions: Gabriel Z.

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
The vast majority of magicians have to do everything themselves. They develop the effects, write the scripts, put things together into a show, rehearse the show, market the show, book the show and perform the show. To become a professional (someone who gets paid for doing magic) you need to develop ALL of those skills.

Before I get into how to learn all that, there is something that Eugene Burger says in his book Teaching Magic. He says that magicians need a sense of urgency. We always think we have lots of time to do the things we want to do in magic. We don't. There is a concept called SMART goals. Goals need to be Specific (so you know what you need to do), Measurable (so you know when you've accomplished it); Attainable (make the goal something you can do, not something impossible); Relevant (make sure the goal is something important to your overall plan) and Timebound (give yourself a deadline). Setting SMART goals and working to meet them overcomes the sense that we have all the time to do things and focuses us on what needs to be done.

So here is the breakdown of the different things a professional magician needs to do:

Developing Effects