Any tips for learning magic? How?

Nov 2, 2007
Norway
so like i recently started out with card tricks. i hear practice practice practice. in front of the mirror, just sitting in your chair or whatever. im really used to practicing since ive been skateboarding for like 7 years. you do tricks and none of them are easy to learn when starting out. but you never practice in that sense though, you are just skating with your friends and you really push yourself to get your tricks safe and clean.

now really practicing alone is a different thing, but what if i practice in front of my brother? hes about my age as well and he loves magic.

problem with that is if i reveal everything to him, i wont be able to do tricks to amaze him. although if he knows the trick its easier for him to see it and if he has a hard time seeing it i guess im golden when doing it for everyone else.
he wont ever look at magic tricks the same though, it would be a shame.

another way is that i could use him as an indicator. how much can i get away with? so i slowly go upwards in technicality when doing some card tricks for him. so if i manage to amaze him i can amaze everyone else with confidence.

whats your thoughts on this? first way or the second way? i think the second way tbh but id like some experienced advice.

sorry if its a bit long :D man i really suck at writing long when i need to and when i dont i just keep going and going. my english isnt top notch either.

Last edited by a moderator:
From the information I gathered from your post I would suggest to practice with your brother. If he is similar in age and has interest in learning magic, it can help a lot to have someone to practice with. And once he has some experience with magic and you find yourself fooling him, then you can be rather sure you are ready for layman.

Nov 2, 2007
Norway