Are custom cards that much better?

Mar 22, 2019
Hey all.

Total beginner here at 36 years of age. I hail from the continent of Africa, South Africa to be exact. Coming across quality cards this side is extremely difficult and costly. With import duties and shipping you are looking at $40 at least for 1 pack of cards shipped via Fed Ex, DHL et al. Our postal service has gone bankrupt, and therefore cannot deliver on time, if at all. This is all an entirely different matter but does bring me to my point.

The "best" cards available to us (excluding the lone magic shop that hikes their prices up due to the former paragraph), is Bicycle League Backs. Now, I see nothing wrong with these cards to my limited knowledge and am having a good time going through royal road and honing my skills. But I always wonder if custom cards are worth the premium. This is purely in terms of feel and handling, not with the hours upon hours of design work that goes into the tuck box and the like. Are they truly worth the premium should it be purely based upon performance?

I have heard of crushed stock but I am not 100% sure what cards have them. When holding these cards and handling them, do they feel different? Noticeably so?

It's a heavy investment here in South Africa for say, some Hudsons, Monarchs etc. Just one deck of each will amount to roughly $50. I am willing to spend the money if it is worth it, but not having a clue....

Antonio Diavolo

Elite Member
Jan 2, 2016
California
Honestly, it really doesn't make a difference. It definitely isn't worth it if it'll cost you $50 to get one, especially if you're not concerned about the design.