beginner card magic questions?

Nov 17, 2011
iowa
hey everybody i am new to card magic and and i have been watching the royal road to card magic DVD series by Paul Wilson i don't have the book but the DVDs help me out a lot. now here are my questions after i get done with the royal road i was thinking about getting the tricks DVD by Dan and Dave is this a good step to make or is there something else out there that is good for after the royal road DVD any advice will help also i but i've been doing cardistry for two years and i'm pretty dexterous would that help with card magic and or sleights
and yes i know guys this is a very long sentence HA HA HA

thanks

baguette

Elite Member
Mar 28, 2013
Okay so you are new.... Don't get the dan and dave DVD. They will be too hard and complex. I recommend you get the biddle trick from theory11, an invisible deck, a triumph routine and, if you really want a challenge, get vector by patrick kun which isn't too hard but requires time and patience.

Sep 2, 2007
London
I'd highly recommend getting the Royal Road book to supplement what you're learning from the DVDs. That way, you'll begin to get used to learning magic from books (a skill you'll definitely want to develop as you progress in magic) with the safety-net of the DVDs in case you feel that you need to see the techniques and tricks performed.

After you've got everything in Royal Road down, get Expert Card Technique by Jean Hugard and Frederick Braue (who also wrote Royal Road). Buy a third edition if you can find it, as it has a couple of extra chapters. Third editions in print are fairly scarce but I believe the eBook version sold by Lybrary.com is taken from the third edition, so has the extra content. You don't necessarily have to master everything out of Expert Card Technique but you'll find a lot of good material in there and it'll definitely open your eyes to what's possible with cards and give you ideas about where you want to take your magic.