Beginner to Card Techniques

Oct 28, 2017
Hi Folks,

I am very new to card techniques and started learning stuff on YouTube probably about six months ago. Luckily I got directed here by a friend of a friend, as there is so much conflicting information on YouTube, and I would rather learn correctly.

I have started learning some of the very basics, riffle shuffle, riffle pass through, stock control, and started trying some riffle stacking. I have been doing some faro shuffling as well, as I find it such an elegant shuffle.

I was highly recommended Jason England's video's, but was wondering if there was a recommended order to purchase things in, or is it best to go with the foundation courses and build from there?. The techniques are labelled "Easy, Intermediate and Advanced", but I am not really sure what moves are most beneficial to learn in what order.

Many thanks for any help :)

Reactions: ArielB.
Jan 26, 2017
Virginia
The best things you want right now are books. You can get some fairly cheap ones that will help you. Here is a list I made a while back, look through the "cards" section.
I would start with the Royal Road
https://www.theory11.com/forums/threads/cheap-books-for-beginners-list.49213/#/post-467974
(If you have the money, you may want to look into card college, as it will work you through most of the stuff from these books over it's 5 volumes. It is quite pricey though).

Reactions: IanDD
Oct 28, 2017
The best things you want right now are books. You can get some fairly cheap ones that will help you. Here is a list I made a while back, look through the "cards" section.
I would start with the Royal Road
https://www.theory11.com/forums/threads/cheap-books-for-beginners-list.49213/#/post-467974
(If you have the money, you may want to look into card college, as it will work you through most of the stuff from these books over it's 5 volumes. It is quite pricey though).

Hi Maaz,