Beginners thoughts on tricks vs routines

Mar 22, 2019
I discovered magic via David Blaine in his street magic video that hit our shores in the '90s. Yet I have only recently started to actually try and do magic myself (This has been explained elsewhere, but I do believe it is important, as I am not a professional with all the know-how and why's so this thread is based upon my limited understanding).

The craze on YouTube nowadays is just to bombard the viewer with one shot sleights. Colour changes, ACAAN's faster than Sonic, and the like. Even as a beginner, I am jaded with these onslaughts and find almost no joy in it. Yes, I do understand the skill that is needed to perform such feats, as I have been trying this for a few months now and know how hard it truly is; yet when it is so fast and so plenty, it loses everything it is meant to be.

I am finding myself being drawn to the 20-minute routines more often than anything, watching a plethora of artists tell a story incorporating the same sleights, in such a way that even if their delivery is botched worse so than the "YouTube" sensations, I appreciate the act in its entirety more than anything.

As a beginner, I feel these "trick" videos do nothing for the card magic in the greater scheme of things. This is where you get the whole "I saw what he did there, if you slow it down" nonsense, vs enjoying an art form being...performed. Am I off base here? Or do you seasoned magicians feel that there these trick videos are a welcomed sight?

Reactions: Theorist19

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH