Books and Dvds

Nov 10, 2014
What are some good general resources on card magic that are not crazy expensive (Somewhere around 20-40$ would be good price)? I have been practicing magic for about 9 months now, been doing some cardistry stuff (got Andrei Jihk's Genesis V1 last year) but I want to expand my knowledge base with some good reliable resources. Any suggestions? I believe I've heard that Dan Perry had a good set but it was pretty expensive.

Tower of Lunatic Meat

Elite Member
Sep 27, 2014
Texa$, with a dollar sign
Good on you for expanding your horizons.

As far as magic resources go. The best place you can spend your time and money is in books--not DVDs. Books are where the real secrets are hidden. It's rare for DVDs to be recommended over books.

On that, my question is this: What books do you currently own?

My recommendation would be 'Royal Road to Card Magic', since you're into cards and that's usually the 'go-to' for beginner card magic.

Maybe check out a local library, since you don't have the most expendable budget out there. You might be able to have some reading material at your fingertips.

For someone who is 9 months into card magic, I would recommend the following:

Royal Road to Card Magic - Jean Hugard and Fred Braue
Self-Working Card Tricks - Karl Fulves
Scarne on Card Tricks - John Scarne
101 Amazing Card Tricks - Bob Longe

A read through these will give you a good grounding in principles and basic sleights, and give you some killer tricks to try out as well.

Even if you only want to perform card tricks, it's always a good idea to read a bit about other kinds of magic as well. A broad understanding of magic as a whole can be useful even if you never perform anything other than card magic. Mark Wilson's Complete Course, as well as Joshua Jay's Complete Course are good for this purpose.

The best bit?

All the above a re available on Amazon and if bought all at once would probably cost you about $75. That's an average price of $12.50 each.