Close Up Pad :: Questions...

May 2, 2008
Pennsylvania
Hey Everyone,

I have been doing magic for about 2 1/2 years now, without a close-up mat, and I have decided that for effects and moves such as the Push Through False Shuffle, and the Invisible Palm (many more effects as well), it is much easier to complete these moves successfully.

My questions about this item are::

-What is an IDEAL SIZE?

-What is an IDEAL COST? (Links to websites where they are good deals are appreciated :D)

-Does THICKNESS of them make a difference?

-Are they REALLY necessary? (Do they make a good enough difference that makes it a good investment.)

If you could answer ANY of the questions above, that would be appreciated.

Take care everyone.

Thank you for everything.

-Sanj

P.S. I did a search and couldn't find anything! If this has been brought up before and has had some good responses, feel free to shoot me a link and mods you may then close it!

Oct 28, 2007
Sydney Australia
A close up pad is a good investment.

Or you can make a homemade close up pad like me, shut up I'm cheap :p

-4 Mouse pads stuck together by duck tape

-Carpet samples.

Both work equally well.

I cant remember who or where, but I'm pretty sure it was someone from T11 recommended that people don't use close up mats for practising, because when you go out, your not going to take your close up mat with you, your going to be on a table, (I think it was Aaron Fisher who said it, Ill go look) and obviously a table and a pad feel completely different and the cards act different on each surface. Ill go find the post, Aaron explains better.

Cheers, Tom

Found it! http://aaronfishermagic.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/welcome-to-card-magic/

If you’ve recently decided to get serious about close-up card magic, here’s a tip that may make you a little angry. You’ll thank me one day.

Don’t Practice with a close-up pad!