Copper and Silver

englandzilon

Elite Member
Sep 18, 2010
Hi,

I am very new to coin magic. Copper and Silver the trick is my first coin trick that i have learnt. After performing i realised that they think the coin has 2 faces? I tried to show the coin casually while not showing the other side. Any advice i can have? Or is there a dvd or book that i can learn more using the copper and silver gimmick?

cheers.

Reactions: notsoltd
Sep 2, 2007
Houston, TX
I perform a copper/silver routine in the spectators hands that doesn't use a gaff since I've never owned a copper/silver half. Here's what I would do though.

1.) Allow the two coins to be thoroughly examined since they are real at this point.
2.) Perform an impromptu version of the effect not using the gaff. They hold both coins in their fist and take one out and hand it to you. I usually use Greg Wilson's Pitch and Ditch for a really visual change but in this case, I'd make it not-so-visual.
3.) Offer to do it one more time. Switch one of the two coins with the gaff, it doesn't matter which.
4.) Perform it again only this time, the gaff makes it a bit cleaner and more fair. You can get a super visual change this time too.
5.) Have them open their hand to reveal the other coin. The moment they're looking into the spectators hand for confirmation that they've transposed is the moment you'll switch the gaff for the normal coin so you're left clean.

You can learn everything you need to know to construct this routine in J.B. Bobo's Modern Coin Magic. There are also several other routines using a copper/silver half taught in the book and you can pick it up for less than $5 on Amazon. It's really a steal.

Reactions: Josh Burch

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
he strongest routines that I know with this gimmick involve a switch at some point. This allows the participant to examine both coins and get rid of the suspicion of a double sided coin.