Cube3 or Cube FX?

Jan 17, 2015
Okay, so I will probably have $100 dollars, and I would like to spend this on a rubik's cube effect.

The two that catches my eyes are Cube 3 by Steven Brundage and Cube FX by John George and Karl Hein (and Tyson Mao).

Which one should I get? I can't get both but price is not a factor for me.

Does anyone own both? If so it'd be great if someone could give some advice.

I have a couple of questions:

Do both need speedcubes to work? Because I currently have 2 rubbish cubes that works but is not smooth at all.

If yes, then cube 3 may be a better deal.

However, I would really like to speed solve cubes so I think Cube FX with the Tyson Mao DVD may probably be better. Also, Cube FX also has a routine, unlike Cube 3.

But I really like the Cube 3 moves too, so can I do nearly identical moves with the stuff taught on Cube FX?

Sorry for the long paragraph, but I am a beginner at this and would really like help.

Summing up my main questions:

-Do both routine need speed cubes?
-Can I do Cube 3 moves with Cube FX moves?
-Does Cube 3 feature a speed solve?

And generally which is better?

Thanks

Tower of Lunatic Meat

Elite Member
Sep 27, 2014
Texa$, with a dollar sign
I don't own either, but I'm going to go after Cube 3.

- It's half the price of Cube FX
- Everything you can do in Cube 3 is inspectable
- the routine in Cube FX is good, but I don't see the point in the routine if you can just sit for a few hours and make your own routines anyway with such an odd, but recognizable prop anyway.
- Cube FX DOES have a gimmick for other routines. But as I venture out beyond the world of Tenyo, I'm finding myself more attracted to things in which are inspectable and end clean without a ditch. Cube 3 is nothing but inspectable goodness. While Cube FX partially has clean and ditch-less stuff.