Defining Moments in Your Journey

Sep 2, 2007
Las Vegas, NV
I'm a hobbyist that found card magic 3 years ago pretty late in life. I'm 38 years old now but dabbled in stage magic and kid birthday parties back 20 years ago. "Kung Fu Klown" who's 35 minute comedy set of Magic, Balloon Animals, Juggling and Contact Juggling was syncronized to music and a scripted vocal track so the show would have the feel of a badly dubbed early 1970's Martial Arts Film.

I quit when I cut off my nipple while juggling knives. Audiences stop smiling when you cut off your nipple. Try explaining that every time you get a new girlfriend. Rocky Racoon makes a great compress by the way...

Just over the last 30 days made a decision to start reading books versus strictly studying and learning from DVD's. My two clients who re-introduced me to magic, and every other magician I knew, emphasized studying books, but I'd flippantly pick up Royal Road or Bobo's Coin Magic for about 43 hours before my ADHD would kick in and I'd pop Panic into my DVD player and replay 2:15 to 2:30 over and over and over agian...

So I got Lorayne's Close Up Card Magic as recommended in T11's Card Fundamentals Part 1. Chapter 1 went over slieghts fundamental for effects presented later on in the book. I found I could do everything but a simple and effortless in-the-hands Faro Shuffle... Best I could do was muscle the halves together, fraying and splitting the edges, ruining both a deck of Smokes and a deck of Mirrors.

Yep... I'm that fanboy that got started in magic Googling Blaine after a Street Magic special, writing Nike 3 months later telling them to make a shoe called "Brad Christian N2". I'm the guy the old-timers at the Magic Cafe complain about who had "no respect for the Masters of Magic" and had "no real foundation." True, but I never really cared as long as I was getting great reactions from my audiences and frying my friends.