Devious by Geraint Clarke

Aug 31, 2007
Any review is going to be colored by the characteristics of the person doing the review, so let me just say a few things about myself so you know where I am coming from. I have been doing card magic for a couple of years now. My original spark of interest came from the likes of Blaine and Dan & Dave Buck, so the new, flourishy style of magic is what I initially started doing. Over the past year however, my focus has begun to shift more towards the likes of Bannon, Hugard & Braue, Frank Simon, etc. In other words, more towards the traditional side of things. I don't have much time in my day for magic, so I'm not the kind of guy who is going to spend eight hours/day for months at a time trying to perfect an impossible move just so I can post a video on YouTube. I prefer effects that are simple, to-the-point, and don't require too much knuckle-busting to accomplish.

Also, I want to make it clear that, though I don't know Geraint personally, I did receive these notes gratis for the purposes of doing a review. All quotes from others used below are copied from Geraint's posts on another forum, and are included for the sake of thoroughness.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"This is a true collection of wonders from a creative rising star in magic."
- Daniel Madison (D+M)

Geraint Clarke is a young, working magician from Newport, South Wales and Devious is his first offering to the magic community. It is a 35-page PDF e-book, though only 24 of those pages contain teaching. Here is the actual listing of contents copied from the PDF itself:

INTRODUCTION

FOREWORD - A few short words from a good friend, and fellow magician Lloyd Barnes.

CONTENTS - A breakdown of everything in Devious.

SHOCKWAVE - A torn and restored card effect that will blow your spectators back in awe.

ACCAPELLO - The most impressive steal and control that always leaves you a step ahead the whole time.