Entertaining kids for hours with magic

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
Whenever I think about magic, which is basically constantly, I'm always grateful for these forums. I love bouncing ideas off of you guys and love your advice.

I wanted to talk about ways that I have found to keep kids entertained with magic for long periods of time.

Last week I made a post about how kids will follow me when I perform. A few people acted like I hate children or think I somehow am not entertaining to kids or adults. In response to that I can say that I started doing kids shows at the age of 7. Birthday parties and scouting events were how I made extra money till I was a teenager.
I performed magic at a shaved ice booth into my teenage years and transitioned into making magic my full-time profession about 3 years ago. I've had the chance to perform for many groups people and while I'm still learning, I'd like to think I have gathered some knowledge over the years.

Recently, 2 tricks have come in super handy when I am asked to do walk around. Most of my material has a clear beginning middle and end but these two tricks can be performed in less than a minute, or over and over for the same group.

The first is Flux, the which hand effect available here on Theory 11. This is one of those rare effects that get stronger as you perform it more. They place a coin in their hand and you guys where it is. It's simple enough for little kids, but also works great for adults, especially grumpy old men. The kind of guys that might be hard to perform for generally. Of course, I think it's best to know one or two which hand routines to fall back on that don't require gimmicks, but for the long haul and for a group of a bunch of kids this is great magic.