Erdnase Question(s!)

Sep 1, 2007
I have been doing magic for 9 months now, and I have yet to acquire a working pass. I am tight on money, so buying more instructional material is not an option. My library has Erdnase, and I have been attempting to learn the one handed shift and its variations. I can do it, but I don't know how to use it.
Is it done fast or slow? Does the ring finger extend or stay bent? Does the ring finger end between the packets? Is the close gravity powered or muscle powered? What are the angles? How do you get into position without exposing the break? How do you get the break? How do you eliminate the noise in the two handed variation? SO MANY QUESTIONS.

Any help on using this move in a performing environment?

Aug 31, 2007
Canada
My advice would be simple. Use a different pass. That is, if you are using this as your first one for use in performance
deff go with another one too start.

If you ask me, you should use a different control. 9 Months in magic is short. Erdnase is a really advanced book and the descriptions are hard to understand. Use other controls when you perform and practice it on the side if you really like it. It is all preference. It is also harder to learn a move and get corrections over the internet. lots of people will tell you lots of things. who can you really trust?

good luck

Sep 1, 2007
Thanks for your sugestions, I already do that. When I need to control a card to the top I use the James-Ellis Loading move. Simple, airtight and angle free. Or the Wow Controll when angles permit. And I have a nice double undercut or sometimes I use a Tectonic Verb to control the card to the top. But I have no pass. I want to learn this one cause it is cool, but I don't want to learn it and not use it.

Oct 11, 2007