Fear of Performance

Should new students of magic post what they learn to social media?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Jun 21, 2016
Murrieta, CA
Hello friends!

Danny here. I've been studying magic since of last year August time. It took some time, but I learned what genre of magic works for me, as you have all endured I'm sure. I've decided to focus on pickpocket magic. That being a pickpocket that uses magic in his routines. Versus a magician that uses pickpocketing in his routines. I've decided to treat this as a college course and have studied for 4 years until I audition to become a member of the magic castle. (It's my dream) Meanwhile I have a terrible fear of posting anything on social media! I feel as though as a student I shouldn't post anything. What are your thoughts? The other difficult portion is that I have no friends or mentors in magic (other than the items I purchase or learn online). So how am I to ensure that what I'm doing is correct?

Jan 26, 2017
Virginia
Hello friends!

Danny here. I've been studying magic since of last year August time. It took some time, but I learned what genre of magic works for me, as you have all endured I'm sure. I've decided to focus on pickpocket magic. That being a pickpocket that uses magic in his routines. Versus a magician that uses pickpocketing in his routines. I've decided to treat this as a college course and have studied for 4 years until I audition to become a member of the magic castle. (It's my dream) Meanwhile I have a terrible fear of posting anything on social media! I feel as though as a student I shouldn't post anything. What are your thoughts? The other difficult portion is that I have no friends or mentors in magic (other than the items I purchase or learn online). So how am I to ensure that what I'm doing is correct?

Wait I'm confused. You said you started studying magic about 10 months ago, but have studied for 4 years?