First Restaurant Job

Hi, I tried to use the search engine but it could not find the answer I was looking for. I understand how performing at a restaurant should work and what to perform and all of that. But my question is How do you walk into a restaurant and ask for a job without having any former experience performing in restaurants. I have done a few free gigs, like a small wedding and a church event that did not have as many guests as I expected.

So do you need a promo package of some kind or any kinds of contract or should I just walk into one of the restaurants I am thinking of asking and just telling them what I am and what I can do for them, and all that? I just don't want to come off as unprofessional at all. If anyone has any tips or links or something that could help me out that would be great, Thanks!

Nov 27, 2009
I've got some experience (I turn 20 in a few weeks), but I'm no expert. I got one restaurant gig by walking in, handing them a resumé and "auditioning" for the manager. After that I kept talking to them, reminding them that I still wanted the job, so to speak. Eventually I got the gig. I had no restaurant experience, but I had a couple of kids shows, a summer performing in Orlando, Fl (not with Disney) and a year of work in a theme park on my resume. Of course, what worked for me may not work for you. It all depends on you approach. I always looked professional and took myself seriously as a performer when I talked to them. Sometimes taking your art seriously is all that it takes to have others take you seriously.

Jun 1, 2009
All the links here are full of great advice. I simply walked in and talked to the manager. I had a resume printed out and all that, and make sure you dress up a bit to give a more professional appeal. It helped that this particular restaurant had a magician before, so they were very willing to hire another one.

Good luck!

Jacob

Feb 7, 2011
Penguin may be out of favour around these parts, but this isn't the worst.