Gaff Decks

Oct 1, 2008
Hey all! I'm new to all these magic. Just came upon something known as gaff decks. Just want to have some information on this subject. Mind anyone explain this to me? ;)

Feb 3, 2008
Raleigh, NC
If used correctly, gaff decks can be a powerful tool. Since you are just starting out, I highly suggest that you stay away from them. For three reasons. If you start using them now, you will only be exposed to gaffed tricks and they could become a crutch. You may not be able to perform the sleights correctly since you are just starting out. And in order to do gaff deck tricks, its best for the tricks to be backed up by non gaff deck tricks.

Once you do get experience, I do recommend getting the Ultragaff deck.

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
Tricks with gaff cards come in all shapes and sizes, limited only by what you can create! For example, with gaff cards such as blank cards, you can have many effects that involve a disappearing card. With a card with a different coloured back, you can have changing colour tricks. Other gaffs will create effects such as blurring a card or distorting the card in some way. Some gaffs are for fairly well known tricks such as Twisted Sisters or Dream of Aces. Others, for example the Ultragaff set of gaff cards, are made for specific effects, listed here: http://www.ellusionist.com/product/...ic/ultragaff+tricks+&+effects+training+dvd.do

Really, it depends on the gaff card - some are made with specific effects in mind, some are very general and can be used for many effects. Hope this helps ^.^

Sep 20, 2008
Mind- since the Ultragaff is mentioned, does anyone own it? is it better than the original red/ghost gaff deck?

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia