"How did you do that?" Responses:

Apr 6, 2010
Ok so although im new to magic and to theory11, i thought id start a meaningful post and get some banter on the go.

Im hoping you guys will agree with me that one of the most common responses to a well performed trick or routine is "How did you do that?"

I thought id make a thread and see what kind of things you guys would say/do say in response to someone who asks you that or something similar after you have performed.

So, what is your response?

Cheers,
Steve

Nov 7, 2009
It depends on the situation... If its some adults I will just not answer (David Blaine.... haha) But if its some kids I will say 'very well thank you' or MAGIC!!

Mar 21, 2010
@AlfieWhattamMagic - Maybe it's just me, but I've always disliked the "Very well, thank you." and "It's MAGIC!" line.

Mar 21, 2010
@Slicke - Yes, as do I. I just leave them with that thougth, and just leave them with that wonder of "How did I do that?".

Apr 6, 2010
I guess its more of an automated reaction with most people, human instinct is to want an answer for anything and everything.

Cheers,
Steve

Jun 1, 2009
I agree that it depends on the situation and kind of how they ask it. If its a reaction out of pure awe "what the...how did..???? wha...???" Then I just sit back and smile :D

If its more of a "Wow that was cool. How did you do that?" I usually reply magic or "don't worry about it" with a grin.

It also depends on who I'm working with, I can be a bit more informal with teenagers (i.e. "Don't worry about it".) than with adults.

Its all personal preference really.

Jacob

Apr 6, 2010
I guess you're right worldmagic, if you really amazed an audience then they would sit their in stunned silence or do the usual back away holding their face with their hands routine.

Steve

Apr 5, 2009
Illinois
not quite what i was saying

i see it as the spectator expressing disappointment(not sure if thats the right word) upon losing.