How to approach people?

Jan 31, 2009
Hi!

I've been doing magic for 2 years but i still don't know how to approach people to show them some magic.

Any tips?

"Excuse me, sorry, erm... Do you know how much a polar bear weighs? Enough to break the ice. Hi I'm *insert name* would you like to see some magic?" ( I use that at parties, but I leave the magic bit out, remember you dont want people remembering you just for the magic, surely you want to be remember as a person to)

Or here's one a street performer told me tonight, this is how he starts drawing a crowd. He holds a piece of string between his fingers just so it above the ground and shakes it a bit and says "String dangling!". He says that randomly and eventually someone will stop and ask him what is going on and then he goes into his other crowd drawer.

Basicly, you just have to be yourself, what ever works for one person may not work for you. It all depends on who you are, you just have to go out and try different things out.

Cheers, Tom

Hi!

I've been doing magic for 2 years but i still don't know how to approach people to show them some magic.

Any tips?
thats where patter comes from, whatever effect you want to do, try to be in the best situation possible, if you are doing sinful, how bout being near a store, or at a coke machine, with a the person who loads the venders up. You be like hey wait a mintue something is wrong with my can, and there, you have the floor....

if you are to do card tricks, be around friends, or at a card game, or in a store and looking for cards, and ask for help to find a specific deck and pull out your cards. once again you have the floor. a great magician can set up the specator.....

But for a random effect by a random person, introduce your self and ask them can you talk to them for a while, can you show them something( i don't like that one), how bout this, do you have a few mintues, if they say yes, they are then open prey......

May 31, 2008