Interesting thought...

Im currently studying an awesome piece of Mentalism and came across this sentence:

"You must know the presentation so well that you can focus your attention, as needed, on other things..."

Whereas the current mainstream thinking is:

"You must have the mechanics down so well that you devote everything towards your presentation..."

Although the first one does not imply that you have to devote to your sleight of hand it does imply the exact opposite to the second.
So what are your views on the two sentences?

M.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jan 16, 2008
Can the process be a step from the second sentence to the first sentence?
First practice until you can't get it wrong, then focus on presentation. Memorize your presentation so well that it becomes part of you, then focus on the stimuli from your audience.

Dec 12, 2009
London Uk
I never EVER try to memorize my presentation, what I do has been said in expert card technique:
I practice the sleight of hand for the first couple of days,
then start add some of my personal touches with the method,
then start writing my script, I memorize it
then come back to it 4 weeks later and anything I remember is in the final performance.

The reason is, if you remember a certain part of your script chances are its really good!
Like a good one liner or something.

So when I perform I mix some impromtu remarks with my script.
This process takes me 2 months.....LEAST.

Sep 24, 2007
I'm a follower of the first statement- if you know what each step in the presentation is, where the attention is continually drawn, the audience will follow you and the moves will never be seen. There also won't be any awkward pauses, (like when most card magicians just sit there and riffle their cards, doing "nothing"). Everything will seem natural and justified. So you don't memorize your presentation, but you memorize exactly what you're going to do, when you're going to do it, and where attention is drawn when you're doing it.