Kid's Magic

For most people, a first step. For me, a last resort. I've been donig magic for 10 years, and never, NEVER wanted to do kid's magic. It was just never my interest. But now, i'm starting to believe that it's probably best. I'm thinking about doing kids' birthday parties (ages 5-10), so i'm trying to put together a routine. This is what i'm thinking:

Sponge balls (which I have ZERO experience with. Any training sources would be appreciated)
Rising Card
Levitating wand
Cups and balls
3 shell game
Money paddle

Any other reccomendations? I want maybe a 30-45 min. show. Thanks in advance!:)

I would have to say... Silk stuff... Maybe with a thumb tip. Seems to get them everytime to me. But yeah, sponge balls=excellent kid trick. I've never actually seen a video with sponge balls except stuff from E (inside magic?), but I got my routines for sponge ball from On The Spot by Gregory Wilson... Except he used napkins... Same basic principal.

Sep 10, 2007
Sacramento, CA
For sponge balls, a really good starter on the subject and a good routine, can be found in Mark Wilsons guide to magic. A card toon and kids cards deck would be good ones. A coin matrix is always an eye catcher (i do coin flux for all sorts of people, old and young, and they all seem to like it). i would even consider getting a change bag and silks. and maybe even some rope. Rope tricks can be found in the mark wilson book too.

Sep 1, 2007
Calgary
I don't do too many sponge ball routines, the only one i know of is in Inside Magic by E. other little kid tricks that are great are i think the two silk hankerchiefs that produce a bra. i can't remember what that trick is called. very visual tricks that don't require too much thinking are great.

Kids performance is a hard part of magic. I do a lot of birthday, Christmas trees...
Here are my routines :
Alibongo trick (I don't know the name in English!) : You have 4 little bowls linked by pair...
v_1_sfp-pompalbo_.jpg