Library Magic?

Nov 3, 2016
As magic books can be hard to find and I am a bit new to it, I am curious about public libraries. In your experience, do public librarys have very good selection?

Thanks

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
Public libraries usually have a several magic good magic books. It is worth checking out. Also, many libraries can borrow books from other libraries. Many libraries have their card catalogue on-line.

I'm curious, why do you say magic books can be hard to find? Are you talking about finding them in libraries or finding them to purchase?

Tower of Lunatic Meat

Elite Member
Sep 27, 2014
Texa$, with a dollar sign
As magic books can be hard to find and I am a bit new to it, I am curious about public libraries. In your experience, do public librarys have very good selection?

Thanks

It really depends on where you live. In Las Vegas, there was a pretty good amount of magic books at the library near Centennial.

However, where I'm at in Texas, hardly any magic resources whatsoever. I'm in a bit of a smaller town though

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
In my county I have several libraries to chose from. My college also has an inter library loan program. Basically this means if I find a magic book at any College in the state they will ship it to my house for free.

The best library books that I have found at my local library in no particular order are:

Self Working Table Magic by Karl Fulves
Hiding the Elephant by Jim Steinmeyer
My First magic Book by Laurence Leyton
The Amazing Book of Cards by Joshua Jay
Mathemagics by Arthur Benjamin
Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic

Jul 13, 2014
Libraries are weird. There's no telling what might turn up. Same with used book stores. Whenever I'm in one I always check just to see what turn up. So far my most interesting finds are:
Hiding the Elephant
The Magician and the Cardsharp
The Royal Road to Card Magic
Expert Card Technique
Phantoms of the Card Table
Action With Cards.