Magic consulting?

Mar 17, 2015
I'm a highschool student doing a project on "the cost of living," and I have a few questions about this possible career path:

What's the starting salary?
How can I get started in this career?
What are some requirements?
Pros? Cons?
Is it worth it?

Thanks!

Bryant_Tsu

Elite Member
Pros? Cons?
Is it worth it?
First off, this is a question that is more similar to being a part time magician. If you can create your own stuff (and perform), you may be able to consult.

This is a difficult question to answer. Since this is a talent based job, with usually no steady income there is no "starting salary". You earn what people pay you (or what they think you deserve), you can't compare with other magicians/consultants as there isn't a set routine that all magicians do/invent that could demand the same fee across the board (and if there was, that'd be absurd).

In the same way that pay isn't the same or based on any standard, there is no other way to get started than to practice, be knowledgeable, and get your name out there (usually by performing on the street or for free). Almost all magicians/consultants are self employed, if you would "hire" yourself, and can afford the time and money to start off, then you can consider yourself "employed".

For requirements, see above.

Pros: this is defined by you. Do you enjoy entertaining people? Do you enjoy magic as a whole?
Cons: Pay is not great and is limited to how many magicians or event organizers hire you over others, which can be unpredictable.