Magic or Cardistry

Sep 18, 2017
So.. I am a beginner learning Magic. Started about 3 weeks ago and working my way through Royal Road to Card Magic. Also got the Card College Book 1, but have not started that yet.
Aside from working through that, I have also obviously looked at a few YouTube videos and learned a couple of things there - like the Charlier Cut and Double lift.(these were more out of curiosity and as fidgets with cards)

I was wondering what your thoughts were regarding Magic and Cardistry? I am mainly interested in Magic, but thinking that learning Cardistry can give me more control of the cards as well as possibly opening me up to other performance options with cards.

Is it advisable to just stick to magic, or is it OK to also learn Cardistry in tandem while learning Magic?

Reactions: Gabriel Z.

Gabriel Z.

Elite Member
Apr 26, 2013
NY
www.youtube.com
Try to learn as much as possible given your skill level.... Always try to push yourself. It's all about repetition and getting that muscle memory down. I know some tricks but not all. I'm not big on flourishing but I wouldn't mind learning it because it seems like a beautiful art form. It's great that you started reading The Royal Road to Card Magic, it's a great place to start. I would recommend starting at the very beginning with the first overhand shuffle section and working your way through the entire book. Card College Volumes are also very in depth. Might I add, that flourishes were originally designed to accentuate certain parts of a magic trick. Then I believe Dan & Dave took it to new heights. Don't worry about getting to that level at least not yet. Sometimes I have a problem of where I am at in magic and all I can do is move forward with the next sleight or trick. It's a hard road but definitely well worth it. Hope this helps.

Jan 26, 2017
Virginia