Magicians as friends.

May 3, 2018
New Mexico
hello, all.

It dawned on me that in my 25 years of practicing magic (practicing not performing) I have never had a friend who was a magician. In fact, I can’t remember even speaking to another magician until I met you folks.

My question, do you guys have magician confidants you practice with, or a local club you are a part of? Or, like me, do you only draw feedback from your mirror?

Aug 6, 2017
I have 2 friends from school that do magic. We hang out sometimes and at lunch share tricks and technique. I don't practice with them outside of school. Unfortunately, they have not read ANY BOOKS. I have tried to get them to read tricks because that is where the good stuff is. I would say because of that it is harder to share techniques because they don't know what they are and I am not going to teach it to them because one, I am not an expert at it and two, I don't want to share something that must be paid for.

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
I do have several magician friends. Two very close friends are magicians, and several I would consider to be "close acquaintances". You know, the type of person in your life that you would definitely make time to have dinner with, but don't necessarily talk with very often.

I generally don't look for a lot of feedback from most magicians, but I do highly value the feedback from certain folks. The key being that I have to know the person really knows what they are talking about from real world experience. Since my main concern is putting on a good show, that's the feedback I look for. I don't particularly care of a routine fools magicians, for example, but I do care if they notice the audience isn't responding how I want them to.