Master Magician

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 5, 2007
New York City
When your audience tells you you are the best magicians that they ever seen that's when you know you are close to being a master magician.

Dec 18, 2007
Northampton, MA - USA
A "Master" of anything is typically someone that has dedicated a huge portion of their life to a given craft or skill. In the Martial Arts world as well as the more occult realms of spirituality one is typically seen as being little more than an educated neophyte even after a decade's study... in Druidism in fact, you don't reach the first levels of the order until 20+ years of study and proving your dedication.

In magic... well, I've been dabbling in it since 1963... many consider me a "Master" but there are qualifiers to that in that I only hold an expert's view in two primary areas of magic; Stage Illusion and Mentalism. Granted, I know a bit here and there on other areas of study such as escapes (my "third" specialty) but I know squat when it comes to playing cards, coin work and general close-up/manipulation type work. Even though I did a Dove & Billiard Ball act years ago, I'm quite stupid and "basic" when it comes to my abilities in those areas... the moral of the story being, you aren't going to find a "True" master of all things nor is anyone likely to ever fall into that status... mainly due to the fact that there is just too much to learn and though you might read about it or even own an effect, does not mean you "KNOW" it or are a "master" of it.

On another forum I've spent much of the past month trying to get a wannabe Illusionist to understand that each major illusion has little "tricks" to them when it comes to "selling" the effect as well as variations of design and even method of operation that can prove either a boon or a detriment to the performer... certain versions not lending themselves well to performance in certain types of venues where others work quite nicely.