Origins - I'm starting over.

wZEnigma

Elite Member
Jun 17, 2009
NE Ohio.
ianchandlerwriting.com
WARNING - THIS IS A FAIRLY LONG READ. PREPARE YOURSELF.

Hello.

I'd like to talk about creative expansionism, or perhaps starting at square one one. I'm a big fan of card magic, and have worked a long time at it. However, recent critique in many, if not all, of my online performances, have forced me to take this position.

I will not be posting videos anytime soon. Maybe for a contest here or there, but for nothing else, and they will most likely be private or password protected. For personal entertainment, I'll probably just keep them on my computer and view them.

Why, you ask?

Because right now, I am a beginner again. I'm picking up cards for the first time. Anything I know how to do in the intermediate to advanced region I am forgetting. I am looking at Royal Road to Card Magic like it's a newfound source of glory and prestidigitation.

I'll return, sometime. I'll check in on the forums now and again, but I'm going to read my books and practice in solitude. I'll amaze people with simple techniques, and build from there.

I want to progress, so I am taking a backwards leap of faith. I heard one magician - I cannot remember who - created most of his material by himself, away from the magical world. I'm taking a similar approach, and regaining the wonder I experienced when I first saw Tivo 2.0 or the pass.

So for anyone struggling with themselves in the art, I suggest taking this path. My pet name for it is the Origin Approach. It consists of you starting over completely and learning everything from scratch with patience.

I'm doing this out of desperation. From the critique I have gotten, I need to completely begin anew. Hopefully it will help me, and I'll pick up some literature on the way, so if you guys can recommend any books for me, I'd appreciate it. I'll look up each and every one of them.