Performing Card Tricks for Children's Show?

Dec 7, 2016
Hi All.

As I'm still a beginner to performing magic. I haven't had much time to expand my magic to spongeballs, coins and so on. I only know Card Magic. I'm in a position where I could get gigs at children's parties. However I feel as though Card tricks can be a little complicated for children? Take the Classics like Chicago Opener, ACR, The Switch or AKA Two Card Monte and so on. Do you guys reckon I'm being ridiculous in thinking that? And what's your thoughts on good card tricks for children?

Tower of Lunatic Meat

Elite Member
Sep 27, 2014
Texa$, with a dollar sign
Hi All.

As I'm still a beginner to performing magic. I haven't had much time to expand my magic to spongeballs, coins and so on. I only know Card Magic. I'm in a position where I could get gigs at children's parties. However I feel as though Card tricks can be a little complicated for children? Take the Classics like Chicago Opener, ACR, The Switch or AKA Two Card Monte and so on. Do you guys reckon I'm being ridiculous in thinking that? And what's your thoughts on good card tricks for children?

Card tricks can be very iffy. I think the big problem is that a basic sdeck of Bicycles aren't relatable at all. The suits and denominations only mean something to US as a way to denote a cards individuality.

With that in mind, I'd personally use blank cards that they can either sign of draw on.

I know of an Ambitious Card routine that uses blanks in which a dog is drawn into a card and it always come to you/top of the deck when you command it to.

I had an idea where I would have a rabbit 'hop' up through a deck of cards with Raise Rise.

I'm currently trying to learn an Oil & Water routine using Pokémon cards (Dark and Fairy pokemon don't get along).

And if you have a (CLEAN) table to work on. Tiny Plunger/Magical Plunger

Reactions: GrahamHorgan

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey