Pity Magic Isn't as Easy as Music

In music if you ever wanted to make it rich and famous you'll just write a song using the same four chords, as just about every other famous pop song, and you're sure to have a hit.

It's a shame that creating magic isn't that simple ya know?

Ashrei

Elite Member
Sep 1, 2007
While it's true that a lot of pop songs use same chord progression, there are tons of ways to make it interesting, and reasons only certain songs sell while others don't.

Along that line, all you need is DL and color change to make a card trick and you'd have a hit.

That's gist of how that statement can translate to magic. I hope I missed your satire or something.

yea its wicked easy getting famous as a musician. thats why there are hundreds of thousands of bands out there and only about 1% are famous.
im a musician, and i have tried making it somewhere. and its just as hard as being a magician to be taken seriously sometimes.

You can't really say that one is easier than the other.
I have a friend who plays bass, and my god, the dude just takes the thing on his lap and can pretty much play any song he wants in a matter of seconds(the same with a guitar) and he can jam like crazy.

Why can he do that?
Because he has been practicing nearly a decade. And by practicing i mean he literally sits down every evening for a few hours and plays by himself. EVERY DAY.

Its all in what you do and how much care you give it. The more you do magic and evolve the more simpler it will get to make new effects, combine them etc. Also reading a few books along the way aint so bad either. ;)

M.

Jan 26, 2008
Sweden
please. i'm hoping this isn't serious.

Pop music isn't about skill and talent. It's about your agency, your manager, and your publicity.

I hope this is not serious either, if it is its one of the worst things i ever read.

Its true in some cases, but some of the biggest names in pop music is insanely talanted.

Dec 13, 2007
North Hollywood