Please help me improve my Classic Pass

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 2, 2013
Hi, I am a novice magician with a bit over a year's worth of experience. Up till now, I was able to figure out many knacky moves and tricks alone (with a DVD/book). However, there is one move, the Classic Pass, that I have practiced for many months now but it still looks shoddy. I always practiced in front of a mirror, at many angles, and even videotaped myself for analyzing. All of my efforts seemed to have no effect on improving my pass :(.

I will post a youtube link of my classic pass, and I will really really appreciate it if you guys could critic me on how I could improve the pass.

My ultimate goal in doing the classic pass is to make it completely undetectable. A card goes in the middle of the deck, the cards are squared, and the card is simply at the top. I want this to work even with my hands being burned.

Here is the video of my current Classic Pass: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N44CJtAst9c

UPDATE! Thanks to all of you guys' great feedback, I think I got better with my pass than I would have by probably weeks or months. It is still not perfect, but it is precisely because of that that I will link you guys my current classic pass. Please critisise it, and give some tips for further improvement. In the meantime, this pass is now what I deem good enough to perform live (with a little misdirection), so I'm practicing my palming (which I accidentally flashed in the vid -_-). I might take down my previous vid in time; if I wanted to purposely flash, I might as well make a tutorial.
My Video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jKyAFfiZx8

Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 2, 2013
Well that's the thing, I don't want to go for a pass that requires more movement than just...squaring up the deck. After all, even a spectator knows that something is up when hands go up and down vertically to square up the cards. I want it to look like I'm just...straightening the deck.