Pressure Fan and "Under Pressure" Question

Nicholas17

Elite Member
May 28, 2008
Kentucky
Although I consider myself to be intermediate with a deck of cards (I've been practicing sleight of hand with cards for around 10 years now), one thing I've always had trouble with it the pressure fan. Recently, I've become obsessed with attaining a nice looking "Under Pressure" flourish. I'll number my questions so they're easier to answer.

1) Practicing both of these flourishes absolutely demolishes my decks. For example, I opened a new pack of Tally Ho's last week, and after less than a week of practicing these moves, the deck feels like garbage. Is getting this down just going to inevitably ruin a lot of decks? The bending is something you can't really work around...

2) Most of the time when I try to perform "Under Pressure," the problem is that the cards will shoot vertically up into the air instead of in a circular flow into my left hand. I understand the necessary hand positions (as taught by Dan and Dave) but I can't seem to isolate what the problem is.

3) I've always been able to make great thumb fans, but my problem with the pressure fan is that when I attempt it, the fan looks uneven and the cards end up bent. This, mind you, is after years of practice. Is something just not clicking in my head? Are there common problems with this flourish? I don't want to be learning it wrong and reinforcing bad habits.

Jun 13, 2013
Florida
I wrote out a big long reply with tons of tips but I accidentally deleted the text and screwed it up to where I can't get it back, but if you really want some help with it you can message me or something and maybe I can help you out by looking at your fan, this would require you to make a video or something but if you really want, I could look at it and make comments/ give tips. That is all I can really say.

Aug 24, 2013
Maine, USA