Purchasing a Video Camera

XIV

Dec 23, 2009
Newcastle
Ok guys, I have recently gotten serious about flourishing and would like to start making some video's. So i propose the question to you;

What is the best video camera for price?

I personally would like a 1920x1080p camcorder (HD) and records into Mp4 or mpeg4 for easy upload to youtube, or if not a video camera that comes with a program that will convert for youtube.

As you may now youtube just release their 1080p HD Res video support which will be awesome for many flourishers, personally I have been looking at the CANON Vixia HF11 Which is $1000, it has awesome quality.

I dont want just flourishing video's it will be for other things as im a musician and love making small skits with friends on their dodgy cheap video camera.

So thanks, and please if you post explain something about the camera I dont want to hear just the name, if you could please;

Name the Camera
Price
Main Features (Hd, internal space etc)

Thank you, XIV.

Aug 31, 2007
I have a Canon HV20 and love it. It shoots in 24p and 60i, though I shoot in 60i. You can find a used one for around $400 and it is around the same quality as the Hf11, only shoots on tapes. Go to HV20.com and porous the Trade/Sales section.

Thanks,

~Zach

May 18, 2008
I have to say that my favorite camera is the KodakZi8. Great, and only $150 dollars. 1080p (unlike Creative Vado, which is 720p).

Plus, Macro Mode, external mic jack, and records to SD cards. My favorite.

The one Zach posted is incredibly good too, but far more expensive. I say, try the Zi8 (cheap) and work with it until you need more power. If you don't, then you have this. If you do, then you aren't out much.

Plus, if you buy this cheap 1080p BEAST, you can then buy a more expensive and use the Zi8 for multiple angle shots.

Hope that helps!

Aug 31, 2007