Question on Grip for Bottom Deal

Sep 29, 2018
I hope this doesn’t count as revealing magic secrets, I’m trying to be as general as possible. If it is my sincere apologies.

I tried to pick up the bottom deal awhile ago and got no where. I’ve noticed that the placement of the thumb in the video is significantly closer to the top-right corner than mine is. Is this a deal-breaker or will it simply mean more effort in building hand strength and dexterity? Thanks for the input.

Pic: https://imgur.com/1sBknmL

Apr 26, 2020
Deep South, UK
Hi, I'm new to this only starting in September so what do I know - but get the Daniel Madison BD Masterclass. Then develop your own grip from that. I found it to be an amazing tutorial and have been practicing ever since. His BD is one of the best out there, in my opinion. (But this is my first post - so I'm sure others will have other advice.)

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
The best grip for the bottom deal should be dealer's position /mechanic's grip (see the description in Volume 4 of Card College). For a proper dealer's grip, the thumb placement should have the thumb touching the side of the deck at the top of the side edge. You want to be able to draw a line from the front edge across your thumb and that line should be in the middle of your thumbnail. The first (index) finger should be across the front edge of the deck at a diagonal. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th fingers should be on the right side of the deck at an angle with the top 1/3rd of the top phalange of each finger being above the top of the edge of the deck. No finger should ever be pressing down on the deck.

Erdnase uses the same grip, except he moves the thumb from the side to the middle of the top card (which you would do for any deal) and moves the 2nd finger (deck in middle joint) to the front edge of the deck with the 1st finger (deck touching top joint) moving back to accommodate it. LePaul's simplified method uses the same grip as Erdnase.