Scripting for impromptu magic

Oct 5, 2012
So I am a middle school teacher, and I primarily perform my magic for my students. As a result, most of my "performances" are a single trick during my advisory period, if we have time. I am starting to move past simply doing "tricks" and trying to create more meaningful "effects", and I am wondering what advice people have in terms of scripting out these sorts of impromptu performances.

What do all of you do in terms of scripting your effects? Do you have multiple potential scripts for the same effect? How do you go about writing/editing your scripts?

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
I have 2 suggestions for you.

1.) Buy the book Scripting Magic - It is an outstanding read and will help you immensely. There are also some cool effects in it. One is worth the price of the book alone.

http://www.penguinmagic.com/p/S9819

2.) Think of plots and story lines that are "hip" for that particular age group. If you are a middle school teacher, you might want effects that are "cool" with story lines that might involve activities that they are involved in. Celebrities, Facebook, Twitter, Sports, Gambling demos, etc.

Some of my effects have multiple scripts that I use depending on the demographics of my audience.

Jan 1, 2009
Back in Time
I would say that for impromptu scripts, you should have just the basic premise of the theme down and allow yourself room for growth and error.

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH