Shaking the "Magic Guy" Label.

I apologize for being less active (for anyone who has noticed and/or cared) lately and hope to be more active soon. That said the question at hand for myself at least, is this:

How do I stop being known as "the magic guy"? I am a fairly experienced gigging guitarist as well as a magician and over the last year people have been starting to know me for my magic. This has caused me to stop doing magic almost completely. I would really love to keep going with it but music is just more important to me in short.

Don't get me wrong my passion for magic is strong but music IS going to be my career.

Im just curious if anyone knows a good way to shake the label? Your thoughts?

Trent.

To be honest, I have no idea, but I guess the only way would be to actually tell them you prefer music. I have other hobbies too, but I like being known for being a magic guy, it's not ruining my other talents.

Apr 27, 2008
Norway
Who cares what they think anyways? If you're going to become a guitarist (or any other musician) then you're going to sell great songs, whose sales won't be affected if you're known as a 'magic guy' by a select few. In fact, that might even increase the sales pitch

my thoughts...;)

GW

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
The Magic Guy label is usually a result of performing too much. You just have to be yourself, more than you "are" the magic, if you get my meaning. Don't perform as much, which is good, put yourself out there as well, put yourself out there as you, and when you do perform, don't concentrate on the magic, concentrate on presenting yourself and allowing you to shine through your magic.

Good luck with the music.

Oct 28, 2007
Sydney Australia