Small Stage Magic Recommendations?

Jun 13, 2013
I'm an amateur magician, I've been doing this for about four years now, and I'm looking to compete in my school's talent competition, but I have experience only doing mostly card magic. However, for a theater fitting about 300 people, this is a little bit too small.

Does anyone have any recommendations for tricks I could learn to perform for an audience this size? I have around 5 minutes, thanks!

*And for reference, the last magician to compete performed the trick Banana Bandanna about three years back, and he ended up winning, so I'm looking for things similar in size and length to that! Thank you!

Jun 13, 2013
Would some sort of linking rings routine be good? I'd like to do something really spectacular and I'm afraid that might be too well known of an effect, plus I would have no idea where to buy from. Thoughts?

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
The reason that the Vanishing Bandana won is because it couples magic with presentation -- it is funny and entertaining. Linking rings is hard to do well in a month and it is even more difficult to make entertaining.

If you are a card guy, get Wayne Dobson's book WD-40. There are several great routines that can be done on stage AND he has some really good presentation ideas.

Also think about doing a six card repeat, tossed out deck, invisible deck or bank night routine.

A bill in lemon routine can also work for stage. The version in Mark Wilson's book is actually pretty good. You also can get the L&L World's Greatest Magic Bil in Lemon DVD with a variety of versions.

A Zombie Ball is a great effect for stage. Again, the L&L World's Greatest Magic Zombie Ball DVD has a bunch of ideas.

Jun 13, 2013
The reason that the Vanishing Bandana won is because it couples magic with presentation -- it is funny and entertaining. Linking rings is hard to do well in a month and it is even more difficult to make entertaining.