The Logistics Behind Signed Cards

Jan 9, 2019
Hello!

I've been doing magic for a little while, but I wouldn't consider myself an expert, yet. I only do card magic, and I am not very good at using other props. I have seen how much of an impact having a spectator sign their card can have, and I'm going to start including it in my routine. Before I do, however, I'm not sure how to go about it. Do I have another deck that I refill cards from? Do I not replace them at all? Do I even need to bother having them sign it? I am still in middle school, so I can't just go and buy decks whenever I want, I'm stuck with the ones I have. I'm open to any suggestions on what I could do.

Thanks!

-Sam

DominusDolorum

Elite Member
Jul 15, 2013
Canada
Great questions!

The tricks in which I normally have a card signed employ a prepared card that I am going to force and am already willing to part with. These cards are not normally in my deck; they are added when I am gearing up to perform the trick they are designed for.

When I want unprepared cards to be signed (not all that often) I usually replace them right away because I just like to keep a full deck. For this, I have an extra deck in my bag. That's just me though because I'm bothered knowing there is a card missing from my deck.

Having a card signed can really elevate a trick. The Anniversary Waltz, Card on Ceiling, and Card to Wallet are tricks that are strengthened by a signature. I would go as far to say that those tricks would only be hindered if they were NOT signed. Some tricks though like The Ambitious Card or even Your Signed Card do still hold up without a signature. You can decide for yourself what works best for you.