The Next Step *Mentalism Recommendation*

Aug 25, 2012
Hey guys I have know my first post about me wanting to learn mentalism started started some fights, and that post was a long time ago. I have come back with a new approach I have been studying mentalism for about 8 months now and I feel like i'm ready to take the next step. From attending local lectures, to purchasing lectures from some such as: Peter Turner, Colin Mcleod and a few others as well as slowly going through 13 steps and learning a lot. I wanted to ask for some more books or lectures I have a few Bob Cassidy PDF's and I can say that the name/place routine from him is absolutely killer. I'm not ready to take on any Derren Brown, but I am ready to take the next step so and other lectures or books, I would love some insight.

Thanks,
Brandon

Sep 1, 2007
Peter Turner's work is likely a little advanced for you. Heck, a lot of "working mentalists" think his stuff is just theory. Which is why that was in quotes- they're magicians who try to do "mentalism" in their shows, not so much working mentalists.

Anyway, check out Richard Osterlind's dvd sets, he's got some great material and you can adapt the methods to your style, like did for his.

Aug 25, 2012
I 100% agree, although the content taught is truly amazing and even though it is advanced I wanted to check it out he is a great performer and his psychological methods and jus this general methods are something that any mentalist shouldn't pass up. On another note Colin Mcleod is a great mentalist even for the beginner I have most of his method down pact. I thank you for your opinion, I have the 13 steps dvd by osterlind and 1 or 2 pdf's but his teaching on dvd just isn't my style.

Sep 1, 2007
Right, he's not totally mine either. Something you're going to learn to do in both magic and mentalism is to filter the methods/effect/presentation and separate them, then consider them on their own.