Unique Performance Story / Random Question

Dec 23, 2007
Fredonia, NY
Hey everyone have a little story to share and then a question afterward thats completely random.

I have been studying sign language in school for 2 years now. Recently i have had the opportunity to attend some deaf social gatherings and participate. Well i am by no means proficient, i get along all right. Upon arriving i spent some time mingling, introducing myself and just participating, however, i had made the decision previously to try and display a little something about myself as well. After things started to calm down i moved to a slighty more spacious area in the crowd and brought a deck out. I started a little flourishing and almost instantly i could feel eyes on me. Evidently in a crowd focusing on hands, flourishing attracts attention very quickly. It wasn't long till several people approached me. After a short introduction and a request for most of them to slow down so i could keep up i told them about myself and my hobby. I launched into a short routine and the response was amazing. As you can imagine trying to include patter with your hands while performing was very difficult so i choose some highly visual effects that required minimum patter and signed best i could in between. While the magic was greatly recieved, the flourishing was absolutely adored! Several people were absolutely intrigued and i was inundated with questions about it and requests for more. It seem's that it was unique and generally unknown artform that greatly mirrored their own forms of visual, manual arts. While the flourishing was a hit, let me tell you, you haven't had your hands burned until you have people who focus on nothing but hands watching you. They cut me no slack and called me on a few things. I learned quick what sleights worked and what didn't. Anyways i guess the point of this story was about how our art can transcend cultural and language barriers and such. It was truly a unique and interesting e