Wanting something new... but what?

Sep 16, 2011
Leeds, UK
I have been doing magic for just a few months and I am looking to buy a couple of effects/tricks. I don't want anything TOO complicated just yet. I am trying to biuld up a few different effects to create a decent routine to get me going. I can do a fairly good ACR routine, and two or three other things with cards. I am considering the 'Invisible deck' but I was just wondering if it is worth buying, or can you do the effect with normal cards? is it suitible for people fairly new to magic?

Due to my routine been mainly cards at the moment I want something different so I am also thinking about purchasing 'the raven', what is this effect like for someone new to magic?

I am after effects that aren't too complicated just now. Please don't get me wrong, I am putting in the work in order to perfect the effects I know, but I am keen to not 'run before I can walk' if you know what I mean.

Any help would be great thanks.

Brendan

Nov 7, 2009
Paris, France
Been there, done a few mistakes ;)

You're right not wanting to for too hard just yet. Doing hard stuff does not necessarily mean higher impact: the Invisible Deck trick (gimmicked version) is easy as pie and will get you incredible reactions and a sometimes needed out.

I would also advise you to diversify your magic: you only speak about cards, but really, if you ever want to do commercial magic, you should learn something else, like coins or sponge balls (real laymen killer stuff). You are fairly new to magic, so don't rush things, take your time.

Learn, perform with different props, reflect on your performance, experiment with your own style, fix your flaws and you'll know what material you need (it might not be trick, it might be theory on showmanship!)