What got you started in magic?

May 29, 2011
Atlantic City NJ
I was badgered into magic by other kids in high school. I kinda developed a habit of always have something in my hands and playing with it. so naturally i found cards to be a good tool to help deal with this addiction(?) this of course caused the other kids to constantly asked if I could do magic so I figure why not learn it. and 2 years later here I am a fairly decent amateur street magician who is trying to make a name for himself on the local boards.

FelixBodden

Elite Member
Aug 3, 2010
Dominican Republic
It was a long time ago when I was a little kid like 7 years old.. my cousin had a party and the theme was harry potter, I saw the first magician in my entire life performing the dove pan trick.. at that time I believe magic was real and I wanted to have powers too haha so I think you could figurate out the rest :)

Sorry about my bad english.

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
It was probably 12 years ago when my family took at trip to Myrtle Beach and I saw my first close up magician at Broadway on the Beach and then Conley's House of Magic down there. It was a simple Thumb Tip and Hank vanish that had me picking my jaw up off the floor. Needless to say I was bitten by the bug bad that day and have never looked back.

Aug 17, 2010
Was into magic as kid, dropped it for a few decades, got back into it to quit smoking.

I was goin gcrazy with nothing to do with my hands, and found Bobo's Modern Coin Magic in a bookstore, and was hooked. Wandered into Browser's Den of Magic, and have been hooked ever since.

Have been busking for two or three years now.

Jul 17, 2011
What got me started?
-From a very young age I was fascinated with David Blaine and Lance Burton. Both were very impressive to me. And I just always loved magic. Eventually I also always kind of loved acting, and performing on stage. So I think a combination of the two did it for me.