Where do people start out once they have learnt tricks ??

Nov 22, 2016
HI I am a beginner and have just learnt a hand ful of tricks I've started out by showing family and confusing them lol but where do others start out once you have the trick where do you take the tricks to get yourself out there as a magician ??

Cheers !!

I don't know any other way to explain it other than just getting out there and doing it.

I'll try to elaborate more. You need to get experience performing for all sorts of people in all types of scenarios. Thanks to guys like David Blaine, street magic is pretty socially acceptable and when you get good enough, you can try busking. Before you get to busking, make sure you have a full routine that you are confident with.

I'll also volunteer at different places and perform for kids. I've been able to perform at a food pantry for children as well as a special needs camp. When you get to that point it's almost a parlor type situation and you will be that much closer to getting close to stage magic.

You will want to start getting involved in magic conventions and networking with other performers to see if they can try and hook you up with gigs. You can try sites like gigmasters.com and gigsalad.com since they are pretty good at getting you hooked up with gigs but there is a lot of competition on there. You will really need to set yourself apart when you are on there.

Another effective method, although not many will agree with me on this, is to post videos of yourself performing on outlets such as Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. This will let your immediate network know you are serious about your craft and show them your skill levels if they are ever interested in having you perform for them. It's also a good way to build your brand and gain a new following.

Best of luck!

Reactions: MagicAbs

Tower of Lunatic Meat

Elite Member
Sep 27, 2014
Texa$, with a dollar sign