Buying tricks / effects

Feb 17, 2018
Hello all, I'm not entirely sure this is the correct area to ask this so i apologies now if it is.

I wanted to know what everyone's opinions are on buying tricks / effects and where to get them.

I have 9 books which vary from self working beginner tricks to more advanced tricks which cover cards, coins rope just about anything to do with magic is in these books.

Now i am still a beginner and the books are amazing, but even i know that they can only take me so far.

I would like to focus more on card magic / slight of hand as that is what I feel most comfortable with.

What would you all suggest for me to look at, places, tricks etc.

As i said i am a beginner but i like to try and learn harder tricks before the easy ones, I'm not saying that I can perform them but i always try to learn them because i feel a bigger sense of achievement when / if i can do it.

Any advice/opinions are always welcome as no one opinion is correct, (my personal opinion) If you're not sure what I'm trying to ask then please let me know as i don't always explain myself properly.

Thank you.

JoshL8

Elite Member
Aug 5, 2017
WA state USA
There are plenty of sites that will sell you tricks and I can list a few in a minute but first a warning; these sites will say things like "best trick ever!" "a must have for any working magician" "this will fool you!" "revolutionary new technique" and so on but the tricks and routines rarely live up to the hype. Also many tricks you can buy are also found in books, maybe the application is changed a bit or the sleight used is from an old book that has gone in to imminent domain or the magician has permission to teach someones effect, much of what you can buy was in print somewhere else at some time.