Advice wanted for a beginner...

Jan 17, 2008
I would appreciate some advice as to what effect would be good for someone just starting in "magic". I am a 65 yr old retiree living in Guatemala with time on my hands and would like to learn some card and coin effects to amuse myself and my friends.

Have been considering TnR and/or maybe Witness.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dec 10, 2007
Texas
hmm well as a beginner i'd say learn impromptu (no props or gimmicks necessary) and self working tricks. It's also good to learn Sleight of Hand which goes for most impromptu tricks.
and PRACTICE. Remember, being a magician should be about having fun and loving what you do! welcome!

ES

AllanLuu

Banned
Aug 31, 2007
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I suggest having a look at the book Royal Road to Card Magic, that will give you a very solid foundaton into your future with magic.

You will learn all the essential slieghts that are needed in magic and tricks to apply those slieghts to.

I would suggest staying away from single trick dvd's for nwo and focusing on books and what not where you learn alot of material for alot less of a price.

Sep 1, 2007
Allan Luu has hit the nail on the head. Royal Road is a well respected beginner's resource. Also consider "Card College" by Roberto Giobbi, and "Double Take" on DVD by Greg Wilson.

Happy hunting!

Sep 1, 2007
I would appreciate some advice as to what effect would be good for someone just starting in "magic". I am a 65 yr old retiree living in Guatemala with time on my hands and would like to learn some card and coin effects to amuse myself and my friends.

Any suggestions?

Thanks