Domain Name?

Oct 6, 2007
Hey guys im thinking about making a site, but i dont know where i can make a free domain name and if none are free then i want to find the best one? anny suggestions? thanks

Hey guys im thinking about making a site, but i dont know where i can make a free domain name and if none are free then i want to find the best one? anny suggestions? thanks
There are many ways to get domain names. I will list the free ones, but they are filled with ads and are often unprofessional. You have to realize that domains are one thing, but then you must pay for your host to host your site on. Paying for a domain is simply paying for the site name, nothing else.

Free:

www.dot.tk
.TK sites are very unprofessional and are riddled with ads, I would recommend NOT getting a .TK site.

www.FreeWebs.com
I have had some good experiences with FreeWebs but once again, if you are looking to get good site exposure FreeWebs isn't the way to go.

Geocities
No comment

Paying:

I would recommend going with www.godaddy.com, I am currently using them and have nothing but good things to say about them.

:)

Mitchell

Sep 1, 2007
Philadelphia, PA

I would suggest:

www.godaddy.com

or

www.networksolutions.com

Pay for your domain and if you are looking for a genuine hosting company GoDaddy also does hosting and I have been using www.one-host.com for my hosting services for the past 4 years with zero problems. If you are serious about having a decent website and/or forums and the like I would not go the cheap/free route if you are interested in having people visit your site. If I hit a site and a ton of ads pop-up it will probably be the last time I visit that site. Domain names aren't free and neither is hosting usually unless you own your own web server and if you get one for free you are still going to pay for it through advertisements and garbage on your site. Just my experience and insight though.

--Jim

Oct 6, 2007
I actually use Yahoo...no problem with that.