Retention Vanish

Dec 20, 2009
Australia
Hey guys, (I'm new to this forum), but anyway, I am having a bit of trouble with the retention vanish. I've been practising on and off for the last 2 months now but I can't get it too look the way I want it to look. Sorry- my camera is broken atm but I will make a video of it. Just some good tips about timing and speed etc would be great :) EDIT- My retention is sort of like this guys here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80A_R6c-7h4 but in more of a horizontal position with a slight angle. Thanks!

Jul 14, 2008
I am not a coin expert, but gosh, you have serious sleight of hand going on. (It's a good thing). But, you fooled me quite good. However, you may want to hear from other coin experts.

Jul 8, 2008
You definitely have WAAAAYY too much action going on with both hands. You don't need to flex your left hand when you draw the coin back, all you need to do is get it into finger tip rest position. Then when you put it into the right hand, you put it square into the palm which gives you more room for error because they can see you steal the coin out. If you put the coin more into the crotch of the thumb, it looks more casual. Next, if you close the fingers together, don't start the actual move until your pinkies touch. THat was when you are actually covered to do the move and they don't see the index finger flaring like I did.

Dec 20, 2009
Australia